. A history of the town of Franklin, Mass.; from its settlement to the completion of its first century, 2d March, 1878; with genealogical notices of its earliest families, sketches of its professional men, and a report of the centennial celebration . culty in harmonizing the differentelements of his congregation. In 1856 Rev. M. P. AVebster cameinto tlie field, and while he seems to have labored earnestly thedifficulties of the work so multiplied that he was utterly unable tomeet them. Under his supervision the enterprise ran rapidly down,so that the Conference judged it expedient, in 1857, to


. A history of the town of Franklin, Mass.; from its settlement to the completion of its first century, 2d March, 1878; with genealogical notices of its earliest families, sketches of its professional men, and a report of the centennial celebration . culty in harmonizing the differentelements of his congregation. In 1856 Rev. M. P. AVebster cameinto tlie field, and while he seems to have labored earnestly thedifficulties of the work so multiplied that he was utterly unable tomeet them. Under his supervision the enterprise ran rapidly down,so that the Conference judged it expedient, in 1857, to give upthe work. But in the spring of 1871 Dr. William R. Clark, then Presid-ing Elder of the Boston District New England Conference, andRev. William Merrill of West Medway again started a Methodistmeeting in the Town Hall. In November of the same year Dr. ADDENDA. 103 Clark sent Eev. John li. Cr?<iiiN(;, a tlieologioal student in Boston-to take charge. He organized a Sunday-school and gathered agood congregation during the few months that he remained. InApril, 1872, the New p]ngland Conference sent llev, E. P. King tothe town. IJe aimed from the first to establish a church as soonas possible. On the 9th of September, 1872, he organized a. METHODI«*T CHURCH. church of thirteen memliers (three men and ten women) and pro-ceeded at once to sohcit funds for building a house of worship, ofwhich he laid the corner-stone 3d October, 1872. He pushed thework so rapidly forward that he held services in the chapel of thenew building on the second Sunday of March. 1873. and offeredthe house for dedication 25th June. A noted revival began inMarch preceding and continued througiiout the vear. Over two 104 HISTORY OF FRANKLIN. hundred professed conversion, of whom the church swelled itsmembership to sixty-six and gained a strong- hold in the town. In April, 1874. after two years of successful work, Mr. Kingwas taken to another tield, and Rev. J. N. Hiiokt became pastorof the chureli, whi


Size: 1513px × 1651px
Photo credit: © Reading Room 2020 / Alamy / Afripics
License: Licensed
Model Released: No

Keywords: ., bookcentury1800, bookdecade1870, bookidhistoryoftow, bookyear1879